LEBANON, OH. –Hello Peggy Sue! Good bye heart! The 5-year-old Donato Hanover lass, named after the 1957 Buddy Holly tune, won the hearts of her current faithful followers on Tuesday afternoon (Feb. 4) at Miami Valley Raceway, winning the $24,000 Open Handicap Trot in 1:54.2 for driver-trainer Brady Galliers over a sloppy surface. She topped Majestic Player A (Walter Haynes Jr.), who was making his U. S. debut and Sweet Mr Pinetucky (Trace Tetrick), who has captured a pair of Open Trot victories already this season.
Dispatched at 9-2 odds, Peggy Sue paid $11.60 to win. Coupled with the Down Under newcomer (Majestic Player A), the exacta returned $35.20; while the 50-cent trifecta including Sweet Mr Pinetucky paid $51.35. The 10-cent superfecta with last week’s winner, Party At The Banks (Chris Page), grabbing the final spot was worth $18.41. Peggy Sue lowered her lifetime best clocking by one tick with her 12th career triumph, boosting her earnings to $166,570. She is owned by Galliers Racing LLC.
Galliers and Peggy Sue left the gate with alacrity, allowing only Sweet Mr Pinetucky to settle in front of her as the leaders passed the first quarter timer in :27.4. After middle fractions of :57.1 and 1:26, the winner popped the pocket early in the stretch and closed in :28.2 to secure her first victory in open company.
Three first leg divisions of the R. J. Brown Memorial Series for trotters that are non-winners of two pari-mutuel races or $20,000 lifetime were also contested on the Tuesday program. Winners of the $10,000 contests were This Man Raps (1:58.1, Kayne Kauffman, $38.60), LaDolfina (1:59.3, Brett Miller, $3.60) and Ms Toni (1:59, Josh Sutton, $12.80). The second leg will chase $12,000 purses on Feb. 11, followed by a $20,000 championship tilt on Feb. 18.
Four fields of $5000 fillies and mares claiming pacers went head-to-head in the first elimination round of their Survivor Series, with the top five finishers from each division advancing to Round 2 next week. The surviving ladies after that round will meet to crown a champion in a $15,000 final—also on Feb. 18.
First Round winners were Nice Trip (1:54.4, Tyler Smith, $3.20), Lucky Seven Of Lodi (1:55.1, Jeremy Smith, $16.60), Kelseys On Cruze (1:56, Cameron McCown, $17.80) and Virginnaire (1:55, Kyle Ater, $8.80).

Back to all Articles